NATURE

Danica Collins 03-10-2018

Environmentalists tell us how Earth’s different species are interdependent upon one another for survival.

That may be the case. At least, until it comes to humans. There doesn’t seem to be any other species that depends on me.

I can be a planter. I can tend a garden, but, I’m primarily in the business of consumption.

Nature doesn’t need my buildings, it doesn’t need my bridges, my automobiles, and most certainly it doesn’t want my wars. As best as I can tell, nature could bid me adieu and get along just fine.

To those who believe nature created me, I would ask: why? Why give evolution to one capable of extracting all of life from the whole.

There is no question that I was created; for here I am.

But, if I have a purpose, as I believe I do, it isn’t to serve nature.

 

Leave a comment