THE END OF HUMANITY

Danica Collins 03-25-2017 b

I have a book that says the age of humanity will come to an end. It seems to me to be happening now; at least, humanity as I’ve known it.

A new species is evolving. A species uninhibited by spirit. A species that might not see any logical reason for my existence.

Autonomous cars, trucks, farm equipment, drones, airplanes; robots of various types. The other day I read that a poll taken indicated 25% of the population would prefer that artificial intelligence rather than human intelligence run the government. Another article claimed that even at its current level AI is more accurate than human doctors in diagnosing cancer.

And we ain’t seen nothin yet!

It won’t be just truck drivers, doctors, governmental planners and business managers. There’s the military, law enforcement, firefighters, lawyers, judges, designers, engineers, entertainers, artists, perhaps even glamour models that could all be replaced within a few decades.

It’s going to be fascinating.

The obvious question is what will happen to us? Are we going to be a knife in a gunfight? A not particularly sharp knife. Mankind will have to integrate with AI just to keep pace and maintain control over it. Is there any other way? We can’t stop it, those who try will be run over by those who won’t.

I don’t know about the future of mankind, but I expect my humanity will soon come to an end. I can’t make a logical argument for my existence or give more than a personal statement as to the purpose of my being.

God however gives a reason for my existence; it’s simple, He wanted me to exist. He has stated the purpose; it is to Love Him and to Love my fellow man. 

Leave a comment